life, lately: westport and workspaces

August is a heavy month, so I do my best to keep busy and distract myself from its  weight. This time around, Kyle came all the way from St. Louis to spend a week of waning summer evenings on Westport patios with me:

DSC02789He came with Haley, my sophomore year roommate. We lived in a dorm room/jail cell, complete with concrete walls and moldy communal showers. It was a blast. Either way, we survived, and this August we celebrated Haley’s 22nd birthday and attempted to recreate the mandatory roommie photo (which always seemed to contort our face into hideous masks when we actually lived together).

from left: Kasia, Haley, Melissa

from left: Kasia (yours truly), Haley, Melissa at Piano Bar in Westport, KC

And a bonus, for your viewing pleasure! A very special Throwback Thursday collection of the four of us, September 2010.

… I’d like to think we’ve come far.

In other news, I moved into my first solo apartment like a Real Adult, while my sister Julia moved into her first dorm like a Real College Student. This means that I got to visit my family for a weekend, and they drove up to Kansas City to visit me to return the favor. Four days in one month is the most time I’ve spent with my family in two years, probably, which is an incredibly sad thing to admit.

Julia and Ania at the park in Springfield:

DSC02850 DSC02817

Ania and I danced, and then I fulfilled my most important role as a teacher and a sister, which goes something like this: “Loser, loser, double loser, as if, whatever, get the picture duh.”

Last weekend, family and I at the Kansas City Irish Festival:

BTHkc7aCQAEg0IHDSC02890

Between the family, Westport and (what was essentially) a month-long Bananagrams tournament, my time was spent moving into my new place, and then blogging, freelancing, jogging, yoga-ing, and studying for the GRE.

The moving in process was a slow one, drawn out over the course of the month. Most of my time was spent organizing books and clothing, since I have very little furniture–this might have something to do with my close-to-nothing-decor budget. It also might be related to my determination to live in every city by the time I’m 30 (ev-er-y city), so I’m careful not to accumulate a ton of baggage. That’s literal, by the way, not metaphorical. Regardless, I like what I’ve done with my limited resources. Here’s a peak into my work spaces.

This is where I cook (um, make sandwiches and sometimes Ramen), eat, and study for the GRE:

Here’s where I write and drink lots of tea.

signing off and working hard, me in my own space

DSC02936xoxo Kasia

Leave a Reply

