audie cornish walked right past me today

No, she really did. Probably three feet away from where I stood, if that. I was starstruck.

Photo Credit: Kurt Wilberding, "NPR: What Radio Hosts Really Wear" from the Wall Street Journal (no, really)

Photo Credit: Kurt Wilberding, “NPR: What Radio Hosts Really Wear” from the Wall Street Journal (really)

I shouldn’t have been there. She was speaking to a class at Mizzou called “Cross-Cultural Journalism,” which is a class that I do not T.A.
As it turns out, I was supposed to be entering grades for my own students into BlackBoard. But instead, I was in the back of that lecture hall, my feet glued on the floor as she walked past.

She spoke to the class for a little bit, and I had to force myself to dash out because, contrary to my wishes, those grades were not going to enter themselves.

Ms. Cornish is at the University of Missouri’s journalism school today to receive an Honor Medal for her work with NPR’s All Things Considered. There’s a fancy dinner and acceptance speeches and a whole lot of pizzazz.

I couldn’t go to the fancy schmancy dinner. Instead, I sat in the Jefferson City newsroom behind a couple of sports writers who were cursing at the World Series game playing on t.v.

That’s okay, I thought. That’s okay because for fifteen minutes, after sneaking into that cross-cultural journalism class, I got to listen to the voice of Audie Cornish without the help of the radio. She’s the sort of woman who demands respect, makes you wish that she was both your friend and your mentor. She’s clever and well-spoken. She gets to the point, no fuss. To survive this week, I need to be Audie Cornish.

Leave a Reply

